What other jobs do you do?

I may have asked this before, but what other jobs do people do alongside tutoring?
I’m a full time private tutor, working with English students in the evening and Chinese students in the mornings.
When I started I was a full time teacher, then juggled retail, supply work, marking and tuition, then became a TA and built my tuition business, and now I’m a full time tutor, and I have been for a couple of years.

3 Likes

Apart from private tutoring I also work as a “Cover Supervisor” 2 to 3 days a week for maybe 75% of the academic year. 25% of the academic year I work as an "Exams Invigilator’.

“Cover Supervisor” role is exactly the same as a “Supply Teacher” but called under a different job title as I am not a qualified teacher.

I tend to find that this gives me the perfect balance and variety in terms of my work. The inviligation is a nice break from having to deal with behaviour issues in class.

Cannot really complain and the earnings are pretty decent for my level of experience and it gives me around 1-2 days free every week when I can work on my passion for computer programming. Hopefully I can do something educationally related with my skills in this area someday.

3 Likes

I have an arts business, though currently not spending as much time as I’d like on that due to also being a student this year. I’m also an independent careers adviser and (volunteer) sports coach. This year I’ve only tutored around 5hrs pw though planning to do more after the summer. Also hoping on getting some ESOL marking work soon. I’ve always liked doing many different things and having to work in ‘one role-one workplace’ is quite stressful for me!

1 Like