Urgent help/advise please

Hello everyone,

I need some urgent help/advice please. I’m actually quite shaken up because a parent did not speak to me in a polite manner and I have never experienced this. I am typing this in a rush so please excuse any errors.

I have been tutoring a Year 2 child for a couple of months now in Maths and English. The parent provided me with some school work such as; spellings, targets etc. I have always planned to work on those in the lessons, given her mum feedback and then planned for the next lesson to progress.
I give feedback and also send any homework that needs to be completed but the mum has been saying she is not well and therefore hasn’t been able to work with her.

Just some background on the child (we will call child X)- has had two tutors in the past, can be challenging at times in the lesson, moans etc when asked to answer a question. She doesn’t like getting an answer wrong so would say ’ no you tell me ’ when asked to say what she wrote. So you can imagine how challenging she can be in the lesson where the mum has paid for it. Child X can also show some negative behaviour which I made mum aware of at the start. When I started tutoring her at the start, I had many new parents so the timings were all over the place. So for 1-2 weeks I had to change Child X’s time. Mum was very adamant that we stick to one time and I explained it was due to new parents but we will have a regular time from week 3 for example. Since then all has been fine…

At the start- we tried 1 hour which was not working for her (you can imagine with the challenging behaviour how it could have been). I then explained to mum that 1 hour is too long as she gets tired- so we reduced to 45 minutes. I have been finishing lessons 1 minute before because I find I need to log into the next lesson as the next parent would complain why I’m not on time. Some understand where as some don’t. I have never had any issues with other parents. Just this one.