Tutoring Struggles!

Hello! I’m Katie and I just wanted to create a topic (sorry if I’ve missed an existing one) to share and support each other with any of the struggles you experience from tutoring as a job. I’ll start with an experience I had today, where I had a new student and had what I thought was a pretty good first lesson, but then got a message saying thank you but it wasn’t the best fit and didn’t want to continue. I found it really hard not let this (quite rare) experience get me down and to have the perspective to see all the students that I do have a great tutoring relationship with. I have also recently started getting nervous whenever I get the text to say someone has got in touch… I’m not too sure why but I think the booking score and repeat client scores play a part in that! I have been tutoring for over 3 years and only recently have the majority of my students come through Tutorful so it’s been an adjustment.

Please feel free to share anything you find hard about tutoring and maybe we can all support one another :slight_smile:

10 Likes

Hi Katie Firstly, I want to say how you are certainly not alone feeling the way you’re feeling. Whenever I have a trial lesson with a new student I am always apprehensive about if we will be a good match for each other and if I match up to the parents expectations.
It’s hard not to take it personally when they decide not to continue, but we just have to tell ourselves that there could be many reasons why they don’t want to continue.
Sometimes, the lesson time clashes with another club, sometimes the parents realise that their child would work better having a face to face tutor and others they may realise that they can’t afford to fund the classes.
Sometimes, it’s just not meant to be but there will be dozens of students who will go on to seek your help in the future.
I wish you all the very best :cherry_blossom:

3 Likes