Time off for a break

How often do you give yourself time off?
I’m a full time tutor and I take Wednesday and Saturday off. I tend to work for months (sometimes a year) without taking a solid chunk of time off. I’m trying to have a break every other month now, but I don’t like cancelling lessons regularly. Im trying to do half a week alternating and see how it goes.
How does everyone else manage their time?

1 Like

I take Thursday and Saturday off - but next year I’m thinking of switching that to Friday and Saturday. Would be nice to have two days in a row off - and Friday/Saturday are the least popular day choices for students (at least for my A level students) so that would be efficient.

I tutor only A level students so it’s always quite crazy around the end of the school year with exams and once they are finished, all my year 13 students are gone. I have some year 12s who want to continue over the summer or start over the summer - but I try and take 2 months off! After the craziness of the exam period with students booking extra lessons I feel like I need it.

2 Likes

I don’t teach on Sundays. I’m hoping to extend that to Saturdays too. I wouldn’t go so far to call them time off though given I end up planning and prepping during them. I am trying to coach myself to a better work/life routine as my 2022 goal though!

1 Like

I don’t teach on Tuesday or Sunday. Having said that, I’ve started doing group classes on Tuesday evening…Although, I do have time off over summer. Saturdays I find are super busy for me. Christmas this year, I intend to take at least a week off.

1 Like

It’s a tough one. I’m trying to balance both 1-2-1 and Class sessions now, so I’m looking at working Tuesday - Saturday, with Sunday and Monday off - then doing the Monday too during the school holidays, and taking a full week off once those are complete.

2 Likes

I teach every day and work part time for an agency week days too.