Pace of learning - what are your thoughts?

“Some students grasp the content of a lesson in a snap. Others take the best part of an hour. Some need things repeated 60 times to have any chance of recall. Teachers do their best, but no human can realistically tailor every lesson to each child.”

Do your students learn at their own pace or do you set a schedule for them?

I’d love to hear your opinions on what works best for you and your students!

4 Likes

Firstly, I always over plan…I have in mind what I want to cover in the lesson but it has to be student led. As a maths tutor I normally get students who hate the subject so part (most?) of my role is to increase their confidence and, in my too many years of teaching, it’s the unexpected that will stump a student (eg you know your student and think they’ll sail through topic A and struggle with topic B and it never happens that way!!!) But if this job was boring I doubt if I’d still be doing it :joy:

7 Likes

I have a loose framework for many students, for example if they want to reach a certain language level I have a book or other resource. But how quickly we move through this is heavily dependent on the students in question.

As an extreme example, I have been teaching two adults for around the same time. One has moved through the entire A1 curriculum and is halfway through A2 now, and the other is still on Chapter 1 of the A1 book. Retention, time spent learning and aptitude are so vastly different (although of course this is an extreme example and outside of the usual pressures of school and exams). I have the feeling that both students have a lot of fun in class though, so that’s the main thing for me.

With school-age students, we often focus on the areas they had trouble with in school or grammar points they might need additional guidance on. Like @Kate I always come to class with a plan, but quite often, we work on something completely different that is more useful to the student at this moment.

4 Likes