Online music tuition

Hello!

I’ve been teaching piano on Tutorful for a few months now and I was able to teach a few students face-to-face in between lockdowns. However, since restrictions have come back into place, I’ve been unable to find new students.

I’ve had messages from people who are interested in starting lessons, but they would all prefer to have their first lessons in person - and particularly with teaching piano I agree! I was hoping to be able to wait until face-to-face teaching is possible again, but with the move to online coming soon that isn’t an option anymore.

Are any other music tutors having this problem, and is there anything I should be doing to make online piano tuition more appealing to new students?

I’m pretty new to the site, so any tips would be much appreciated!

Cheers,
Ben

3 Likes

Hi Ben,

Welcome to Tutorful! I hope it’s all going well for you. :slight_smile: I teach flute and recorder, and have been pleasantly surprised to have been able to start learners off as complete beginners, through online lessons on here. I had never imagined that possible with the flute in particular due to the angle of having to hold it etc.

I’ve come across people teaching piano over webcam too, and though it sounds hard, it is very possible as long as the player’s posture is good and the angle of the webcam is negotiated well. I’ve also heard it can be a question of “trial and error”: and sometimes there’s a need to adjust the angle a few times during the lesson.

Good luck! :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hi Ben,

I’m a piano teacher also, and after an encouraging start with online lessons, enquiries and bookings have tailed-off noticeably in recent months.