New tutor looking for suggestions

Hello everyone,

Just looking for a little advice. I am new to Tutorful, I signed up about 2 months ago and I am struggling to get my first job. I was told the summer would be quiet so I’ve waited, but would just like to ask anyone if you have any tips to start getting work.
I am a fully qualified primary teacher (taking a break to look after my young children) with 7 years experience and I currently tutor for the National Tutoring Programme, but this is my first time doing it independently. I have set my rate to £25 per hour, which I feel is quite competitive for my qualification, but maybe I am charging too much. I keep applying for the odd job that is placed on the job board, but they either want someone in person or I don’t hear back. Maybe my profile needs more information?

Any suggestions welcomes

Thank you in advance

2 Likes

Hi Dani, I hope it picks up for you soon.
I would recommend going as cheap as possible to get a few initial bookings. This will mean you can get reviews and boost your booking and repeat client score (which affect where you appear in the search results). I personally started at the minimum, £15 per hour, but now have my rate set higher than that. You can change your rate later for new students you pick up

Remember that students will only be looking for one tutor usually, so you need to show that you’re the best for them compared to all others they will see. Without reviews or a star rating this is going to be very difficult.

5 Likes

Can only echo what Dylan said really.

The only thing I’d add to what he said is to maybe turn your lack of tutoring experience to your advantage. You can emphasise your teaching experience but also point out to students that because you are newer to the tutoring scene, you currently have lots of time on your hands and will use that to provide the very best to that student.

Otherwise it’s difficult to know what to suggest without knowing what your profile looks like.