My dream maths tools for the classroom

Hi!

As a maths tutor, I use a lot of shapes and the drawing tools in my lesssons and I had some thoughts on things I would love to have added in the classroom, hope these would be possible…

• “Snap to grid” feature which would align shapes’ edges to the closest gridlines
  • X and Y labelled axes :heart_eyes: and maybe some preset graphs too like a parabola and some trigonometric graphs.
  • drawn in angles on triangles
  • keep gridlines when we add a new slide

I would also like to be able to type latex in the Text boxes

Interested to hear other people’s thoughts! Or if there’s anything I have missed out

2 Likes

The “snap to grid” feature already exists - if you hold down shift and the space bar when you are inserting a shape then it’ll fix it to the closest grid lines :slight_smile:

2 Likes

I agree with the rest of the above! I’d add a rotatable protractor tool into that too. Many lessons where that would come in handy

2 Likes

Hi, the snap to grid sounds interesting, how is it done ?

I had no idea! I’ll have to try it out

2 Likes

I would also like to have the use of a protractor and also a ruler. I teach primary maths and had a lot of success using the tools available in the old classroom.

I’m still waiting for PowerPoint to work as a slide show…

Hello!

I thought I’d pop on to give some clarification on where we are in the classroom at the moment.

Firstly, thank you @Julia for giving us your requests, I’ve added them to our list for future consideration. At the moment, as we are reaching the summer holidays, Maths tools are not something that is on our immediate list as we have a few other broad features we’d like to release to help a wider targeted audience. However, features like protractors/rulers, graphs and subscript/superscript are definitely things we would like to eventually look into to help our Maths/Science tutors.