Lesson expectations

Dear tutors,

I wanted to know what is your intake on some of the things below please.

Some clients do not attend a lesson on time often and expect you to message them to remind them. For example, if their lesson is at 12:30pm, they want you to message them either couple minutes before or at 12:30pm.
How do deal with this or what do you do?

Also, what do you do regarding checking homework? Do clients send you homework right before the lesson to check in class together?
Do you give the homework for extra learning at home and want it back in time so you can check it prior to your lesson with them?

The expectation of writing a report for a client about their childs progress?
I am a teacher, so I am in school five days and tutor too. Writing a long 3 page report is abit much. I dont mind a short report, but nothing huge.

Your thoughts will be appreciated.

1 Like

I email and message 5 mins after they are late. There isn’t a world in which I’d agree to remind them every week. If they are late, that’s on them, and it’s their money they’re wasting. If it’s rare and for good reason and I’m able, I might run the lesson over, but that’s not something I’d do more than once.
Homework is a mix. I mostly read it in lesson so I can give immediate feedback and talk through it (why do it twice?!) but if it’s a long essay for gcse or a level I might annotate it beforehand, or give written feedback via email.
I don’t do reports, I just do detailed feedback via tutorful. That’s more than enough. If a parent has a specific question they can message or call me, but my feedback says it all. It’s usually a few paragraphs long each lesson, and I out all written work in it too.

1 Like

Ha! Funnily enough, I do the exact same thing as you, Heather. The only additional thing I sometimes do is agree to reminding them for the next couple of weeks, but never as a permanent thing - Tutorful does that automatically for them anyway, in case you weren’t aware.