How can I see other Tutors and how they teach online?

Hey there,
I wanted to know if there’s a way where I can see how other Tutors teach a similar subject, so I can see where I can improve on my lessons, since I’m very new to this whole tutoring malarkey and am feeling a bit apprehensive about it all.

Thanks,
Gregory

1 Like

Yes,I’m just signing up but not sure how it operates!

Hi Gregory,

What subject do you teach?

Biology! :slight_smile:

Shame, I’ve been teaching maths and English for :face_with_hand_over_mouth: 20 years so I’m afraid I can’t help you unless you have some generic teaching questions…feel free to ask them :grin:

Yes, I want to know how I can make my lessons more interactive, as so far I’ve been to wordy for my topics because it’s Biology.

I wonder if you could send a message to another tutor, and ask for a demonstration class?

1 Like

Someone once told me if you asked a dozen teachers their opinions you’d get 15 different answers…so I’ll answer what works for me.

I’m not sure what age range you’re teaching, I’ll answer assuming secondary (I teach primary and secondary).

Be as un-school teacher-y as possible, most of my students aren’t in love with school/your subject/their teacher and need someone who can explain things in a different (and more relaxed) way.

Try and have different ways of explaining topics (sorry, this will come with practice). Think of topics you struggled with and try and find a completely different take on it.

Use board sharing and investigate useful sites. I don’t tend to use them on Tutorful but elsewhere use sites like Quizlet or Kahoot.

Get good books (I love CGP) to show roughly what order to teach in if you don’t have course books.

More importantly, be yourself and be enthusiastic. If you love what you do, you’ll be amazed how many students will get engaged too!