Home Members About

Welcome to Tutorful's Community Forum

Our Community Forum is the perfect place for tutors, parents, students or anyone with an interest in tuition.

Ask questions, share advice and keep up to date with the latest Tutorful updates - all whilst having fun and connecting with new people.

Face to Face tutoring - a thing of the past?

Hi every one ! I have a question which could be relevant for all tutors. I am new to Tutorful myself, but have been tutoring independently for 18 months (GCSE English plus elementary and intermediate ESOL). When I started my lessons were all face to face but during the pandemic everything had to go online.
There are many advantages to online lessons, particularly convenience and the fact that you can tutor students anywhere on the planet (I currently work with two Spanish students), but what of the things that are unique to face to face tuition ?
I want to be able to monitor how well a student or a class is engaging and learning, and one of the ways I have done this in face to face lessons is to observe body language.
Also the ability to switch the style and format of a lesson to cater for the need of the moment is more difficult online, I would say, depending on how skilled you are in using the tools the software provides.
We obviously need to make the most of all the new opportunities which the online classroom offers, but I don’t think that means we should abandon the idea of face to face work.
Does any one have any thoughts on this ?

3 Likes