Concerns about getting work

Hello fellow Tutors, I am quite new to tutorful, and I have some concerns, mainly about the scoring system. I love tutoring online and I have a fair bit of experience. One of the things I’ve noticed about this platform is how harsh the score ranking is for tutors, and I have no idea if an 8 (repeat client etc) is good? So far I have had a lot of time wasters contact me and ask me endless questions about how they pay and other practicalities, without following up and confirming a lesson. I am always polite of course, and communicate effectively with potential students, but ultimately it seems I get punished if they are, well? …Time wasting. How have other people overcome this? Does it get better? Thanks in advance.

1 Like

That’s a tough one. I have had this, and I think the parents don’t consider it being an issue for us and don’t realise it affects the scores.
I’ve found that it seems to get better after you get a few positive reviews under your belt. I’m not sure why, but that has been my experience.

2 Likes

My approach if it looks like a long exchange of messages is starting is to tell parent that it would save time for both of us to have a 15 minute chat. Then use the chat to meet the son/daughter and take a few minutes demonstrate how good the classroom is.

Which usually leads to one of 2 outcomes.
(A) The student wants lessons - date and time agreed at end of chat.
(B) Time wasting stops.

My preferred solution because I’d much rather chat to a stranger for 15 minutes than write multiple messages over several days each one of which needs to double up as an advert - for an uncertain (perhaps “unlikely” is a better word) reward at end of the process.

6 Likes