Assistive Technology Software

As well as being a tutor, I am also a freelance Assistive Technology Trainer. I primarily work with university students, but wanted to share some software I use with my school students or programs that help me out!

Mindmapping

Ayoa - really clean and easy way of mindmapping. It’s quite different to programs like Mindview and has built in to do lists. I use this to track reports and things to do based on priorities.

Xmind - free software that has all the basics and non of the unnecessary buttons. You can create all sorts of colourful bubbles in your maps and zen mode stops you getting distracted. I love this for creating mindmaps with students - word banks in particular.

Spelling and Grammar

Grammarly - although I do use the premium version, I always recommend that university students download the free version. It’s a great tool for just making your writing that little bit better.

Referencing

Zotero - life changing software for people who dislike referencing. There’s nearly 10,000 different referencing styles available for download, you save reference information as you research, click a few buttons and your referencing is done quickly and easily.

Visual Stress

F.lux - adjusts your computer screen throughout the day to be a subtle orange tone rather than the harsh bright white we are currently spending hours a day looking at.

ColorVeil - a simple but effective whole screen overlay that has all the colour options rather than just orange.

Productivity

Habitica - level up your character by doing your tasks, earn coins, hatch pets and grow them by feeding them. Really great app for children and adults with SpLDs.

Google Keep - a to do list but better! Tick off what you’ve done, change the background colour, set reminders for times and locations and share your shopping list with your partner (works a treat).

There’s so many more I could have included here, what great free programs do you use?

10 Likes